The Internet of Things: A whole new world of convenience or another stalker?

The Internet of Things is a terribly obscure term to describe something that is so familiar to us all now; It is the integration and network of physical items with technology such as smart phones, watches and televisions. We live in a world where a phone can unlock a door, monitor our pet’s health and tell our coffee machine to make us a long black.

Although I experience many positive instances of the Internet of Things throughout my day currently, like most people, initially I was very apprehensive. In my most memorable experience, there was a mix of amazement and panic. It was when I had purchased a new smartphone and started using Google Maps. After about two weeks of using the device, I was prompted with a notification, “It will take you 15 minutes to drive home with current traffic”. WHAT?!! HOW DOES IT KNOW WHERE I LIVE?! I had not provided the location of my house, work or university but over the course of those weeks it had recognised my common whereabouts through my mundane routine. Although I was living a fairly boring life, I thought how this would affect people doing some pretty cheeky things. The concept of this convenience would be lost if cheaters were prompted with a notification of the travel time to some scandalous location in front of their partner.

Since then however, using The Internet of Things has become a more familiar and accepted concept. I have grown to love and adopted more instances of the Internet of Things into my own life- I am even the owner of Apple Watch.

Karl Fogel argues that wearable technology will one day be a ridiculed fad- akin to the calculator watches of the 1970s. Maybe I am biased but I have to disagree. Those calculator watches serve a very limited purpose that does little to impact every everyday errand. Having Siri organise my life, remind me of events, check my heart rate, tell me where the closest coffee is, call/ text my friends and play some Kanye West (all whilst I’m driving to uni- shhhh..what? who said that?) helps me be more productive and efficient with very little effort.

Screen Shot 2016-04-19 at 9.43.23 AM.png

Consolidating marketing communications with a process that is convenient and aides the organisation of daily tasks is greatly beneficial and valuable to consumers. Marketing opportunities arise as more people adopt and further integrate the Internet of Things in their everyday lives. Similarly to the points made in the previous readings about mobile marketing, the Internet of Things can provide an opportunity for marketers to communicate with customers in a timely and location based manner. As the Internet of Things continues to evolve and becomes more widespread, more consumers will embrace the integration and the trade off between privacy (as long as information is obtained legally and responsibly) and convenience will not be as daunting…. because we’re all just a littttle bit lazy.

 

You_ve_been_pony_dunked_Puddle_loving_Pony_gives_rider_a_dip

2 Comments

  1. Loved the blog this week! When I first looked into the internet of things I was quite shocked at the amount of personal data that was being collected, and it made me question how much privacy I’m willing to give up in order to make my life a little more convenient. I think you made a great point that like any new invention or technology, it just takes a matter of time to get used to and trust it. Similar to when internet shopping became popular, I was skeptical of inputting all my bank details, but as time went on I grew to trust the sites and the process of buying online now is not at all daunting, just incredibly convenient. In terms of the internet of things, that once users see that they can trust how companies use their information, the increase in convenience will outweigh the decrease in privacy. Do you think that people have fully adopted the internet of things yet? Or do you think there is still a way to go before consumers fully trust companies and how they use our information?

    Like

    Reply

    1. Thanks for your comment!!! I was just thinking about your internet shopping comparison, I was the exact same. I think the thing that made me more comfortable was the adoption of paypal. I wonder if some sort of middle man (similar to PayPal) for the collection and transfer of personal data is the thing that will put everyone at ease too!

      To answer your question, I think many young consumers have been really receptive to the internet of things (maybe it’s because we’ve lived most of our lives with the internet and are pretty open to sharing personal information through platforms such as Facebook etc?). I think there is still a long way to go for most consumers. I imagine in 10 years, most people would have adopted some form of the internet of things or at least be comfortable with the thought of adopting it.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

